Puzzled Beyond Belief

Mom was playing a game, a puzzle game. And in my family, I am the queen of them, so whenever someone gets stuck, they always come to me for help. Well, mom was stuck and she came to me. She was stuck on a puzzle where she needed to put in the right combination of syllables to make a famous Latin phrase. She was confused, and a little angry with the game. One, she didn’t know any famous Latin phrases, other then what is on the dollar bill, but she had tried it and it wasn’t what they wanted,. Two, she said that if it was really famous, she should know what it is rather then being so stuck.

The syllables were: IT OM LTI MUL MU TA; MO NE NIA NOV. From these, came the phrase, Multi multa; nemo omnia novit. I walked into her room sighting it and she laughed, asking me what it meant and if it was even right. It means ‘Many know many things, but no one knows it all.’ She asked me if I was sure it was right, and I knew it was. She didn’t believe me, but I put all the syllables in to fight the phrase, and it was right. She passed her final puzzle on the game. I told her that when it came to translating, I was good. Even if I couldn’t speak the language, I can sure translate it. I know, it’s odd.

When we were done, my brother had something to me that was well on it’s way to starting an argument, but instead of starting one, I turned to him and told him that I could change the phrase so that it said, ‘Many know many things, but Robert knows nothing.’. Once I said that, I left the room, my brother seething. It was very funny.